Tue, 15 May 2018

Isle of Man TT: Cummings to start Superbike’s at No. 1 on a Honda

Conor Cummins to kick off the Superbike’s at this year’s Isle of Man TT from the number 1 spot, as this year’s Superbike start list is revealed.

Cummins will be the first to set out on the time attack on his CBR1000RR Fireblade SP2 prepared by Padgetts Honda for the first time in his career with the entry list confirming Norton’s McGuinness dropping out from the 1000cc battle.

Behind Cummins follows Quattro JG Speedfit Kawasaki’s James Hillier, with Michael Rutter setting off behind him at number three.

Honda Racing’s Ian Hutchinson starts at fourth position with Dean Harrison of Silicone engineering Kawasaki behind, sandwiched in by racing royalty Dunlop at number six, on his Tyco BMW.

At seventh, Gary Johnson will head off for Briggs Equipment Kawasaki, just in front of the second Tyco BMW with Dan Kneen on the hot seat.

David Johnson has been pushed back from setting off first in 2017, to in ninth position on his Gulf BMW. Peter Hickman is back in the fifth position that helped him to clutch his five podium positions from last year.

Finally, Josh Brookes sets away in 11th on his Sole Norton ahead of Martin Jessopp at 12 and Lee Johnson bringing up the rear on his traditional number 13.